Oklahoma Department of Human Services
Sequoyah Memorial Office Building, 2400 N. Lincoln Blvd. • Oklahoma City, OK 73105
(405) 521-3646 • Fax (405) 521-6684 • Internet: www.okdhs.org
Library: News Release

Aug. 31, 2009

For Media Inquiries, Contact:
Lauri Monetti-OKDHS Office of Communications
(405) 522-3731, Fax: (405) 522-3146
e-mail: Lauri.Monetti@okdhs.org
OKDHS Imaging Project to be Recognized for Excellence at National Conference

OKLAHOMA CAPITOL -- IT Solutions Management for Human Services will recognize the Oklahoma Department of Human Services’ Family Support Document Imaging Project at its 42nd Annual Conference in Chicago, Ill. Aug. 31.

The ISM 2009 Recognition Award for Excellence in Human Services Technology in the Collaboration Across Boundaries category will be awarded during the Monday morning opening plenary session of the conference. More than 800 attendees participated in last year’s conference from local, state and federal agencies along with attendees from Washington D.C., British Columbia and the United Kingdom.

Accepting the award today on behalf of a large team of OKDHS staff from various divisions is James Conway, program administrator for Information Services, and Tammy Williams, program manager for Enterprise Development Strategy, both of the OKDHS Family Support Services Division.

The project being recognized at the conference started Phase I by imaging documents in 16 offices within the state. Now, nearing the completion of Phase II by year end, nearly 73 percent of the state’s OKDHS case load will be in digital form. The imaging of documents and case files means gaining efficiencies to support clients and aiding clients in not being tied to the one caseworker who has their paper file.

By going paperless, client’s records can be accessed from multiple Human Services Centers. Counties that are already imaging documents are Canadian, Cleveland, Grady, Logan, McClain, Oklahoma and Pottawatomie. Phase II, which is set to be completed early next year, includes the following counties: Comanche, Creek, Garfield, Kay, Kingfisher, Mayes, Muskogee, Rogers, Payne, Okmulgee, Osage, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington. Phase III is currently in the planning stages and will include the rest of the counties within the state.



Last Updated:  6/13/2012